Week 10

What was the impact of my diffi-tool on Givercraft students & teachers; what should I change for Survivorcraft to ensure that my intervention is effective?

I have a hard time answering this question this week. I will have to rely on the survey from the teachers to come up with the answers. Since I need this information in order to be able to prepare for our next task that is coming up it is essential that I help to come up with a thoughtful way of surveying the teachers who were involved in Givercraft. I have come up with the following questions that may assist in finding out the impact of badges on the Givercraft students and anything they felt needed to be changed to help with effectiveness.

  • Did you use the badges? ___ Yes   ___ No
  • If yes, what percentage of students do you feel desired the badges?

___0-25%     ___ 25-50%         ___ 50-75%      ___ 75-100%

  • How effective do you feel the badges were?

___ Very effective     ___ Somewhat effective     ___ Not very effective

  • Do you have any other suggestions that would make these badges more desirable?

I searched through Givercraft and found no evidence that my badges were used at all. I would like to put together a quick survey, but would love other questions to add to the survey. We need to also keep in mind the students and their opinions. “Students tend to be more open and honest about their learning than one would expect and these can be criterion referenced” (Macdonald, 2004, p 90).

I looked into surveys and what types of questions I should ask. I found that there were positives and negatives to both open-ended and closed-ended questions but for our purpose I plan to use more closed-ended questions. “Questions that are closed-ended are conclusive in nature as they are designed to create data that is easily quantifiable” (Penwarden, 2013). I plan on creating this through survey monkey, which stated that you should use closed-ended questions when possible to make your data easier to analyze. (Hanna , 2012)

We need to be able to gather information to help guide us in our future tasks. “Teachers, however, cannot achieve these changes alone, but require the kinds of organizational conditions in which learning from and using evidence becomes an integral part of their practice” (Timperley, p 8). We influence our students and their outcomes, so it is important for us to know where what we are doing is truly helping or if we need to modify what we are doing to best accommodate each person. The Education Quality and Accountability Office stated that “When data are being used effectively, decisions about the focus of instructional programs and practices, professional learning needs, resource requirements, intensity of support for students’ needs and placement of support staff are grounded in data analysis” (Ontario, 2014, p 5). This is the foundation that allows us to best serve our students. By using the data at hand effectively we are able to assist them where it is needed. It is the same with our diffi-tools. We need to be able to assess whether it was helpful and/or change things to suit their needs.

 

Hanna, J. (2012, April 13). 10 Tips to Improve Your Online Surveys. Retrieved from

https://www.surveymonkey.com/blog/en/blog/2012/04/13/10-online-survey-tips/

Macdonald, R. (2004). Assessment Strategies for Enquiry and Problem-Based Learning.

Retrieved from http://www.nuigalway.ie/celt/pblbook/chapter9.pdf

Ontario Leadership Strategy. (2014). Using Data: Transforming Potential into practice.

Retrieved from http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/policyfunding/leadership/IdeasIntoActionBulletin5.pdf

Penwarden, R. (2013, Aug. 7). Comparing Closed-Ended and Open-ended Questions.

Retrieved from http://fluidsurveys.com/university/comparing-closed-ended-and-open-ended-questions/

Timperley, H. (n.d.). Using Evidence in the Classroom for Professional Learning. Retrieved

from https://cdn.auckland.ac.nz/assets/education/about/schools/tchldv/docs/Using%20Evidence%20in%20the%20Classroom%20for%20Professional%20Learning.pdf

 

8 thoughts on “Week 10

  1. I liked your questions for the survey. Have you had any response? I like creating the badges and after completing a challenge, I like receiving one and placing it on my blog. I’m wondering if students like these? Do they know how to upload the badge on their wiki page? How did the teachers give the students the badge. When we did Givercraft last semester, I didn’t see very many badges given to students either. I’m wondering if the teachers knew how to give the students. It would be interesting to hear about the teachers responses to these. I like them, but not sure if the kids do.

    Like

    • Great thoughts. It seems as if we should probably come up with a survey for the students too. I want to hear from the teachers first. If they didn’t really use the badges then it is pointless to ask the students.

      Like

  2. I think you have a good idea sending a survey to the teachers. It is really hard to know how and if our differentiation tools were used. We are so removed from the classroom the students are in, it is difficult to communicate clearly with them. I gave badges directly to students, but didn’t see any of them use them. I think they were very engaged with the core game and didn’t really pay attention to my tools much. It will be interesting to see what kind of feedback you get.

    Like

    • I am glad to hear they were being used by at least one teacher. It looked like they were so involved in creating their scenes that the badge display idea became more of a task for those who felt they had done all they could do in regards to the book.

      Like

  3. “Teachers, however, cannot achieve these changes alone, but require the kinds of organizational conditions in which learning from and using evidence becomes an integral part of their practice” (Timperley, p 8). I zeroed in on this passage from Timperley’s piece this week, too, Sunshine. It’s SO true, isn’t it, that when “organizational conditions” in our schools focus on student work and the collegial and collaborative analysis of student work, the conversation about student learning really changes! Easier said than done, though, as teachers and administrators days are packed and before/after school hours are so full, as well. Nevertheless, when we can get together to look at student work (regardless of what that work is), it naturally leads to conversations that are about so much more than scores on assessments.

    Re: your badges for Givercraft — I wonder if perhaps teachers used them in other ways…maybe on a leaderboard in their classrooms, on classroom webpages, etc.? It’s a great idea!

    Tammy

    Like

    • Thanks Tammy, I really like badges but not many teachers used them it seems. It is possible they used them in other ways. It’s hard to know when they aren’t responding to the survey I sent out (I had one response and that teacher didn’t use the badges). I can only hope that this time around the teachers will feel a little more comfortable using them.

      Like

  4. I had similar issues with trying to find out whether or not students had utilized what I had created. I think we need a better way to communicate with the teachers and students!
    If you do get answers to your survey, I would love to find out how effective the badges were. I am thinking about using them in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

