Week 6: Differentiation in Givercraft

How can I create opportunities for differentiation in Givercraft? 

I am currently working on creating badges for those kids who thrive on extrinsic motivation. There are always a few who will push to gain rewards, from all academic levels. I am an achiever and an explorer, but if you dangle a carrot out for me to strive towards I will always go after that carrot. I know of many students who are this same way, and they could be the high academic achievers as well as those who struggle in their academics. It all deals with personality. Differentiating for them is important as well. Some students won’t push themselves at all without that reward or prize. They have to have something that they gain from the task in order to even want to put any effort into it. I plan on providing that. With badges for each scenario that is aligned with the rubric that has been provided, students are able to tangibly see that they have exceeded a given criterion.

Amanda helped me learn how to create my own badges on https://pixlr.com/ . This is a site that is very user friendly and it’s free. You can save your work on your computer and create as many as you would like. I was able to create some without even signing into the site.

I was a little concerned about the 40hours (20 on Givercraft and 20 on Survivorcraft). But after the tweet session we had this week, I am feeling a lot better. The work we normally do during the week is included in this internship. I don’t know about you all, but I put so many hours into writing these posts, editing, researching, then reading posts, responding, and reflecting. Then there’s two hours on Tuesdays and an hour on Wednesdays that we put in. With me working on these badges on the side I feel confident that those 20 hours will go by very quickly. I tend to put in extra time on Minecraft already (I just have a blast in there). Every week something new has happened to my house, so I have to go in and fix it or restock it.

I also plan to assist in Minecraft any way I can. The Google doc was very helpful, I can go back to it when I need to and see where else I can help out. It’s great that we can work together on the document like that, while we “hangout.” Then everyone can be the recorder rather than just one person having to do all of the work. It’s great to have a combined piece like that. This week has been fun and I look forward to reading everyone’s blogs.

Autodesk, Inc. (2014). PIXLR. Retrieved from https://pixlr.com/

4 thoughts on “Week 6: Differentiation in Givercraft

  1. Thanks for sharing that website on your blog. I plan on making badges, but had no clue how to do it, so that really helps! The 40 hours seemed overwhelming to me too, but like you said after everything was broken down and knowing the hours we normally put into the class counts as part of them, it seems like it won’t be too bad. I thought it was 40 in addition to what we already do, I would’ve been stressed!

    Like

  2. I was stressing too. I too thought it was 40 hours more (that would have been just too much). I have really enjoyed Lee’s classes. The teacher collaboration, exploration, blog posting, research we all have to do, and the way the lessons all fall together makes it possible. I’m happy you are also making badges, I just finished reading your blog post for this week. You are amazing, thinking of those students who are not going to be gamers.

    Like

  3. It never ceases to amaze me how kids love the idea of small, simple awards. Whether it’s a badge or a gold star on the top of their page, kids love the recognition. I have a couple of stamps I keep in my desk. Every now and then, I pull one of them out and stamp something fun on the top of a quiz or test. Looking at their reaction makes it seem like they just won the lottery. Keep in mind that these are high school kids! Using badges in Minecraft will probably result in the same reaction, especially with kids who either struggle with the game or aren’t big gamers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

