Week 11: How to use the Data?

How will I apply what I learned from my data to teaching and learning in my classroom?

Since I am a PE teacher and reading intervention teacher, I can apply the observation and questioning piece to my classroom.  I am constantly observing what kids are doing and how they are doing it.  If I can come up with a simple rubric for certain skills that they need to have mastered I can better keep track of every person in the classroom.  This will also serve as proof that every student in fact did learn/master that skill or strategy.  For reading it might be a single focus for the day, where PE it might be several skills.  Follow up questions at the end of our session is always beneficial, I just need to remember to squeeze them in every time.  Sometimes you feel so rushed, but those are the times when you are reiterating what they should have learned.

How can others apply what I learned to their classrooms?

I could share my research with other teachers in my building so that they may explore science-based simulations as well.  Maybe this will give other teachers some resources to use when starting a new lesson, or to introduce a new concept or piece of equipment.  I know that if I need to go out and do all of the research I am less inclined to proceed with a new idea, but if I have some resources I feel like I have somewhere to start and that I am not doing nearly as much hunting.  This doesn’t mean I do less hunting, it just makes me feel like I do less.  Maybe others feel that same way, not wanting to reinvent the wheel but to have something they can go to for examples.

9 thoughts on “Week 11: How to use the Data?

  1. Good morning,
    What did you learn from your research specifically? Not the process – but your results. It looks like you found that the simulations were beneficial for introducing an idea. How would you apply that result to your work in PE or reading intervention? In physical education, would a simulation game about nutrition or the affects of inactivity be beneficial for your class? How can you take the information from your research a step further? Just some things to think about 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I learned that the simulations were beneficial for introducing an idea or equipment. But in PE I don’t have enough time or the equipment to use technology with the students. This is why I stated I could pass it on to other teachers, but I really can’t use simulations in the classroom. I only see the students once a week for 45 minutes, it’s just not possible at this time. If I saw them everyday for say 30 minutes, then yes I could do simulations with nutrition or teaching them about their bodies (muscular parts, and why stretching and warm ups are so important). I suppose the middle school or high school teachers could use these in that manner.

      Like

  2. Developing observation rubrics makes sense for both your PE and reading intervention classes. There are plenty of online rubric development sites that may offer good ideas. Once you start developing these, you may find you use many of the same components over and over again. It took me a while to appreciate rubrics but now I find myself creating quick grading rubrics for most activities. These are often very simple rubrics that help me maintain consistency in my grading.

    Sharing your research with other teachers is an excellent idea. As you continue using simulations with your classes, you may want to think about developing an online repository for your ideas. Sites such as Edmodo, Moodle, or even Google Docs can be used to post and share your ideas with others. Allowing other teachers to add their own resources to these sites will benefit everyone.

    Like

    • Great ideas on how to share online. I always forget those are such easy ways to spread the word and it is something that everyone is using now a days. I like the ideas of simple rubrics even for a quick shot like what I have. I only see the PE students once a week for 45 min. and the intervention kids 4 days a week for 30 min.

      Like

  3. Sharing your data is a great idea. I think we need more of that in our schools. Unfortunately I think we are already very booked for time, so it can be difficult to fit more in. Looking forward to your results.

    What is it like seeing kids in the gym, then reading with them?

    Like

    • I know we are constantly booked for time, but a quick presentation after school or during an inservice might be helpful to one person. Even if it only helped one person, it would be worth it.

      As for seeing kids in the PE setting then reading with them, you are right, it is different. The kids are in an entirely different setting and their attitudes are a little different. You get to know them a lot closer when you are injected into their lives four times a week as their reading intervention teacher. It’s also a nice reminder of how things were as a classroom teacher (I taught 5th grade for four years, and 3rd grade for six years). It’s fun.

      Like

  4. This is making me wonder what kinds of simulations exist for my main subjects (English and social studies). I know there are games that simulate various periods in history or workings of government (iCivics, I think), but I have yet to find the time and opportunity to use those. I guess out current Minecraft unit is a simulation for English, but one that we only have time to do once a year or so. I wonder if somebody is designing programs that work as simulations (and/or games) for core content areas that meet all standards. It would be a lot of work. I’ve thought about doing it, but I don’t have the resources. It would be nice to have the time to gamify everything!

    Like

  5. I too want to know more about simulations and if there any for elementary students. Like thomash44 mentioned we are all pressed for time and I don’t always have the time to research the latest and greatest tools. I am looking forward to hearing about your project. Another thing I wonder is do the simulations cost money?, that would be draw back for some of the schools in my district.

    Like

Leave a Reply

