Week 8 Reflection

This week seemed a lot easier than last week. I typed up the majority of my research proposal last week, which is what I thought you wanted us to do for our assignment. When I discovered I was incorrect, it made me so happy to be ahead of things for once. I was then able to really read through my work and get some amazing feedback that led to rewriting one of my themes, shift wording around for organizational points, correct any editing points that I didn’t catch myself but were seen by others, and feel confident about my proposal.

I had an author from one of the articles I referenced respond to my post. That blew my mind. I couldn’t believe he took the time to read my work and critique it. This also led to some changes in my paper. But, if I hadn’t come up with the majority of it last week I would have never been able to get such a large amount of feedback. I took every piece into account. Of course, it is my writing, so I got to pick and choose what I was going to change. I am pleased with my final draft (which, even now, can be changed after the actual research has been completed).

When I read through other research proposals I felt like it took a really long time, because I wanted to be as thorough as others had been with my paper. I wanted to be helpful in giving feedback, not making them feel badly, but to making them see what I was seeing in their writing.

Tweeting was such a blast this week. I shared hosting it with Lindsey B., she is an amazing asset. You can tell she has been doing this for a while. Not only did I enjoy hosting, I enjoyed hearing where everyone was in the writing of their research proposals. It was nice, for once, I felt like I could help others instead of being the one who needed the help. Granted, I still took any help I could get. I was just comfortable with what I had and the feedback I was already getting it took a lot of weight off of my shoulders, giving me the ability to reach out and help others or give some words of advice. I am not sure how very helpful my assistance was, but I know that any comment that was given to me in past tweeting sessions were a total blessing. I ate everything up like chocolate. So, I was just trying to give back to everyone what I had been given in past sessions.

I am excited to begin my research. I am not sure what will come of it, but the journey will sure be fun. Now will be my turn for observations, detailed note taking, face-to-face interviews, and data collection interpretation. I look forward to watching the students explore the simulations I have chosen, they may not be the only ones out there but it is a start. I plan to learn a lot from this, which may lead me to more research using different simulations (which is what I am expecting following this project). It will be a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

